Driving While License Suspended Or Revoked

If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Clark County, you are not alone. Driving while license suspended is one of the most frequent charges against drivers in Washington. Yet, just because it is a "common crime" does not make it a less serious offense. In fact, even if you did not know your license was suspended, you could face time in prison.

Do not sit on your charges. Contact a defense lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your options for defending yourself and protecting your freedom. I am Vancouver, Washington, attorney Jack Peterson, and I am on your side. Call 360-859-5297 for a free and confidential consultation.

Attorney For Defending Charges Of Driving While License Invalidated

Under Washington's criminal law, driving with a suspended license is called "driving while license invalidated" (DWLI). The penalties for driving while license invalidated depend on multiple factors, such as the number of times you have previously been convicted of DWLI, whether you are eligible for license reinstatement and whether you have been charged with other crimes in addition to DWLI.

Washington DWLI falls into three categories:

  • First-Degree DWLI: You can be charged with first-degree DWLI (a gross misdemeanor) if you have three or more previous convictions, including DWLI, DUI and reckless driving convictions. Penalties for this "habitual offender" DWLI can land someone in jail for at least 10 days for a first conviction, at least 90 days for a second conviction and at least 180 days for a third conviction.
  • Second-Degree DWLI: If your license was suspended for certain crimes, such as hit-and-run, DUI and reckless driving, you can face up to one year in jail and $5,000 in fines for a second-degree DWLI (a gross misdemeanor).
  • Third-Degree DWLI: DWLI in the third degree is a misdemeanor crime charged when someone failed to take the steps necessary to reinstate his or her license after a license suspension. Penalties for third-degree DWLI include up to 90 days in jail and $1,000 in fines.

As you can see, penalties for a driving while license invalidated conviction are significant. Do not face these charges alone or with an inexperienced defense attorney.

Contact An Experienced Vancouver, Washington, Attorney

For a free and confidential initial consultation regarding your driving while suspended charges, contact me, Vancouver, Washington, defense lawyer Jack Peterson. Call 360-859-5297 today.